“If You’re Green and You Know it…”

If you’re green and you know it, plant a tree.
If you’re green and you know it, plant a tree.
If you’re green and you know it,
Then your life will surely show it.
If you’re green and you know it, plant a tree.

This atrocious piece of environmental propaganda was actually put out in some official capacity by the United Methodist Church.  This song was released as a liturgical recommendation for children to coincide with the Council of Bishops’ initiative  “God’s Renewed Creation: Call to Hope & Action.”

The prime piece of this initiative was a pastoral letter written by the bishops which we pastors were asked to share with our congregations.

I didn’t.  I wonder how many did?  I don’t think it was many, at least in my part of the country. 

Perhaps we’d prefer our bishops to exercise their authority in different ways and on different issues.  For instance, I’d love some episcopal direction on what constitutes true worship; I find that more vital to the life of the church than their environmental opinions.

Oh well. For more details, check out this analysis from the IRD

And before you freak out at the mere mention of the IRD, no, I don’t like everything they do either, and no, I don’t want to hear about it.

3 thoughts on ““If You’re Green and You Know it…””

  1. The bishops’ letter sounds too utopian and moralistic to me. But the key thing, I think, would be to find a way within your own theology to talk about care for creation, which in itself (apart from bishops) is a biblical theme, and a timely one.

    Peace to you, Mack.

  2. Absolutely. I think stewardship is a key way to get at environmental ethics for Christians. Some balk at that, but care of resources is a hallmark of Christian teaching. I was not offended so much at the bishops’ letter until I came across this awful children’s song though. When I have kids, I may use it for punishment.

  3. Yeah, it’s a pretty awful song. But please don’t inflict in on children.

    Here’s another:

    If you’re vegan and you know it, eat a squash.
    If you’re vegan and you know it, eat a squash.
    If you’re vegan and you know it,
    then you diet ought to show it.
    If you’re vegan and you know it, eat a squash.

    Be well.

What do you think? Share your thoughts below...

